HOPA members are leaders in the field of hematology/oncology pharmacy. We’re always pleased to share with you news about our members' accomplishments, including awards, research endeavors, and speaking engagements. If you would like us to share news about you or your HOPA member colleagues, please send the information to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Recent News

George Carro, RPh MS BCOP: Interviewed by ASCO Connection About Quality Improvement Project

George Carro

As part of National Pharmacy Week (October 15–21, 2017), which recognizes the contributions of pharmacy professionals to patient care and safety, HOPA member George Carro, RPh MS BCOP, shared his experience participating in the American Society of Clinical Oncology’s 2016 Quality Training Program (QTP). Carro, who currently serves on HOPA’s Governance Committee and chairs the Nominations Subcommittee, is the director of oncology pharmacy services at NorthShore University HealthSystem near Chicago, IL. His team’s quality improvement project centered on decreasing the risk of financial toxicity in an ambulatory oncology practice, with a focus on the use of immune checkpoint inhibitors. Read the interview, “Pharmacy Professionals: An Integral Component of the Quality Training Program,” which appeared in ASCO Connections on October 25, 2017.

Spotlight on Robert Ignoffo, PharmD FASHP FCSHP, Winner of HOPA’s 2013 Award of Excellence

Robert Ignoffo

HOPA has recognized Robert Ignoffo, PharmD FASHP FCSHP, for making a significant and sustained contribution to hematology/oncology pharmacy. Read the comments on his long involvement with HOPA that he shared in his recent interview with Robert Mancini, PharmD BCOP, member of HOPA’s Publications Committee.

HOPA’s “Big Idea” Winner: Michael Vozniak, PharmD BCOP FHOPA


The “Big Idea” of Michael Vozniak, PharmD BCOP FHOPA, was recently selected by HOPA members as the one that would best help to fulfill HOPA’s strategic plan for 2016–2020. Learn more about his "Big Idea" proposal from an interview with him conducted in April 2017 by Megan Brafford May, PharmD BCOP, and Brandi Anders, PharmD BCOP, members of HOPA’s Publications Committee.

Research Presented at 2014 HOPA Annual Conference Published in Journal of Oncology Practice

We are pleased to feature HOPA Members Jennifer L. Niccolai, PharmD and Danielle L. Roman, PharmD along with their colleagues whose research presented at the 2014 HOPA Annual Conference was recently published in the Journal of Oncology Practice, titled "Potential Obstacles in the Acquisition of Oral Anticancer Medications." 

HOPA Board Member Edward Li Provides Examples of Oncology Targeting Biosimilars Nearing Approval

Edward Li, PharmD MPH BCOP, associate professor at the University of New England College of Pharmacy, recently discussed some examples of oncology targeting biosimilars that are nearing approval. Watch the video.

Please take a moment to read this article regarding the HOPA Entry-level Competencies Task Force Response Statement to the 2016 American College of Clinical Pharmacy Pharmacotherapy Didactic Curriculum Toolkit.

Please take a moment to read this interesting article from UC Health. It highlights the important role oncology pharmacists have in cancer care and features several fellow HOPA members working in the Denver area.

LeAnne Kennedy, PharmD BCOP CPP FHOPA, Recognized by HOPA

Leann Kennedy

LeAnne Kennedy, winner of HOPA’s first Award of Excellence in 2005 and a member of the inaugural class of HOPA Fellows in 2016, was interviewed in February 2017 by Megan Brafford May, PharmD BCOP, and Brandi Anders, PharmD BCOP, members of HOPA’s Publications Committee. Read about LeAnne’s reflections on her role as a clinical pharmacy specialist and her involvement with HOPA.

HOPA Members Share Their Research at the American Society of Hematology (ASH) Annual Meeting

Justina Frimpong, PharmD BCOP

2016 ASH Meeting Justina Frimpong

Jigar Trivedi, PharmD MS BCOP

2016 ASH Meeting Jigar Trivedi

Tracy Wiczer, PharmD BCOP and Lauren Levine, PharmD

2016 ASH Meeting Tracy Wiczer Lauren Levine

Ali McBride, PharmD MS BCOP BCPS

Ali McBride

At the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Annual Meeting and Exposition, Dr. McBride was recognized with a Best Practice Award for his work to move inpatient chemotherapy to the outpatient setting at his institution. HOPA member Christopher Campen, PharmD BCOP BCPS, was part of Dr. McBride’s team, as well.

Alex Ganetsky, PharmD BCOP

2016 ASH Meeting Alex Ganetsky v1

Alex Ganetsky presented his recent research at the American Society of Hematology (ASH) Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA. Dr. Ganetsky’s research was featured in the ASCO evening post – a publication that highlighted just four to five topics each day. Congratulations!

Kristin Wheatley, PharmD BCOP, 2016 HOPA New Practitioner

hopa member awards cat kristinwheatley

Each year at the HOPA Annual Conference, we acknowledge members for their contributions to patient care and the practice of oncology pharmacy. The HOPA New Practitioner Award is given to a practitioner who is early in their career and has made a significant contribution to developing or supporting clinical hematology/oncology pharmacy services. Learn what Dr. Wheatley shared concerning her role as a clinical pharmacist and her vision for the future of oncology pharmacy from her recent interview with HOPA colleagues.

Chris Fausel, PharmD BCOP

Education Speaker Fausel

2016 NIOSH Hazardous Drugs List: NIOSH recently published its 2016 NIOSH Hazardous Drugs List. HOPA was asked to collaborate on this project and we were delighted to have HOPA’s and a pharmacist’s involvement. Chris Fausel, PharmD BCOP was asked to represent HOPA as a reviewer. Chris worked with a very well respected group and this was the first time HOPA was included in the process. Thank you Chris for your fine work!

Christine Gegeckas, RPh BCOP

membership announcements gegeckas

September 7, 2016 (Cape Coral News): Christine Gegeckas, RPh BCOP, earns the 2016 Pharmacist of the Year Award from the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FSHP). The Pharmacist of the Year Award is given annually to a Florida pharmacist who is recognized for his or her outstanding performance and achievements during his or her pharmacy career. Judging criteria include self-improvement efforts, job accomplishments, and contributions to the general welfare of the community. Read more.

 HOPA President Sarah Peters, PharmD MPH BCOP

membership announcements peters

August 30, 2016 (Vermont Biz): HOPA President Sarah Peters, PharmD MPH BCOP, delivers keynote address at the white coat ceremony for incoming Doctor of Pharmacy Students at the Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Vermont campus. Read more.

James Natale, PharmD BCOP

July 26, 2016 (OncLive): HOPA Member James Natale, PharmD BCOP, joins panel discussion regarding chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting (CINV). He adds, "It’s really important that we start off on the right foot and control nausea and vomiting from the outset so that we can prevent problems later down the line of therapy." View the discussion.